IMG 9254

Nature and Geopark Mëllerdall

Fascination rock

0

Welcome to the Nature and Geopark Mëllerdall

Because of the diverse, unique geological heritage of imposing sandstone cliffs with narrow clefts and deep gorges the region is something very special. Therefore, the Nature Park, founded in 2016, is also a Geopark to focus on the fascinating geology of the region. The combination of Nature and Geopark speaks for the special importance and protection requirement of the landscape which should be preserved for future generations. The different aspects of nature such as plants, animals, rocks and water as well as their use by humans are brought together here. The Nature and Geopark Mëllerdall is located in the east of the Grand Duchy on the border with Germany and covers an area of ​​256 km² with about 23,000 inhabitants in the eleven municipalities Beaufort, Bech, Berdorf, Consdorf, Echternach, Fischbach, Heffingen, Larochette, Nommern , Rosport-Mompach and Waldbillig. Its name "Mëllerdall" – Miller’s Valley - was given to the Nature and Geopark due to the numerous mills along Sauer and Black Ernz and many other streams.

Insights into the history of the earth

The geological history is characterized by an alternating distribution of land and sea. The rock layers of sandstone and dolomite, from which the bizarre rock landscapes were created, were once the bottom of a sea. Between 250 and 200 million years ago, during the Triassic and Jurassic periods this was the ocean bed. The marl, which can be found in the flatter areas of the region, was once part of the seabed, too.

Rivers that flowed into the sea flooded grains of different sizes into the ocean. These grains, but also other dissolved substances such as lime or other salts, deposited on the seabed and were solidified to stone. In the region of the Nature and Geopark Mëllerdall, these are mainly sandstone, marl, limestone and dolomite.

After the sea disappeared in the middle Jura, today's rivers cut into the rock. The current landscape of plateaus and deep valleys was formed. Humans settle here since the Stone Age. Above all, the Sauer, the largest river in the region, cut deep into the dolomite subsoil. Therefore, the rock is now visible as rock faces on both sides of the valley. Also the smaller rivers and streams created steep cliffs. These contrast with the open areas of Keuper landscape, gently undulating hills on the plateaus.

Narrow rock clefts and caves in the Luxembourg sandstone have formed because blocks separated from each other and slipped or tilted on the underlying water-retaining marl layers.

There are also traces of weathering everywhere. Particularly characteristic is the honeycomb weathering in calcareous rock, reminiscent of honeycombs.

Interesting and worth protecting points that provide insights into the history of the earth are called geosites. They convey knowledge about the origin and development of life on earth and are testimonies of a turbulent past. In the Nature and Geopark Mëllerdall numerous geosites can be found. The landmark of the region, the Schéissendëmpel waterfall, is such a geosite. The imposing rocks of the Wollefsschlucht gorge or the Kuelscheier, a narrow rock cave near Consdorf, are interesting geosites, too.

Experience geology

A sustainable network of trails from the 112 km long, award-winning Mullerthal Trail and the numerous local trails leads past the spectacular rocks. The hiking trails often lead even up on the rocks or through gaps and fissures through them. Thanks to good public transport offers single and multi-day tours are easily possible. Many geosites can also be explored by mountain bike. Climbing is possible on the rock faces of the Wanterbach near Berdorf. For this, however, it is necessary to be a member of a climbing association which in turn must be a member of one of the two international climbing associations UIAA or IFSC. This is regularly checked on site.

The Nature and Geopark Mëllerdall promotes regional development and strengthens regional identity through environmental education programs and sustainable tourism. Experience geology up close - whether on foot, on a mountain bike, individually or with a guided tour. Learn more about the exciting history of the region which is many millions of years old.

www.geopark-mellerdall.lu

on the map

We use cookies to ensure the best experience on our website. By accepting you agree the use of cookies. ok Learn more

IMG 9254

Parc naturel et Géoparc Mëllerdall

Fascination de la roche

 

0

Bienvenue au parc naturel et géoparc Mëllerdall

Le patrimoine géologique varié et unique de falaises de grès imposantes avec ravins étroits et gorges profondes font de la région une région toute particulière. Le parc naturel, fondé en 2016, est également un Géoparc ce qui témoigne de l'importance et de la nécessité de protection du paysage pour les générations futures. Dans cette région fusionnent les différents aspects de la nature tels que les plantes, les animaux, les rochers et l'eau ainsi que leur utilisation par l‘homme. Le Parc naturel et Géoparc Mëllerdall se trouve à l'est du Grand-Duché, à la frontière avec l'Allemagne, et couvre une superficie de 256 km2 avec environ 23.000 habitants, répartis sur les onze communes de Beaufort, Bech, Berdorf, Consdorf, Echternach, Fischbach, Heffingen, Larochette, Nommern, Rosport-Mompach et Waldbillig. La dénominiation « Mëllerdall » - Mullertal – du Parc naturel et Géoparc est due aux nombreux moulins le long de la Sûre et de l’Ernz Noire et bien d'autres cours d'eau.

Un aperçu de la géologie

L'histoire géologique est caractérisée par une distribution alternée de la terre et de la mer. Les strates rocheuses de grès et de dolomite, d'où émergeaient les paysages rocheux bizarres, constituaient le fond d'une mer, il y a 250 à 200 millions d'années, pendant les périodes du Trias et du Jurassique. La marne qu’on trouve dans les zones plus plates de la région, constituait autrefois une partie du fond marin.

Les rivières qui ont débouché dans la mer y ont amené des grains de différentes tailles. Ces grains, mais également d'autres substances dissoutes comme le chaux ou d'autres sels, se sont déposés sur le fond marin et furent solidifiés en pierre. Dans la région du Parc naturel et Géoparc Mëllerdall, il s'agit principalement de grès, de marnes, de calcaires et de dolomies.

Après la disparition de la mer pendant le moyen Jura, les rivières d'aujourd'hui se sont creusées dans le rocher et le paysage actuel s’est formé, composé de plateaux et de vallées profondes, habités par l'homme depuis l'âge de pierre. Surtout, la Sûre, la plus grande rivière de la région, s’est creusée profondément dans le sous-sol dolomitique, de sorte que cette roche est maintenant visible comme parois rocheuses des deux côtés de la vallée. Mais les petites rivières et ruisseaux ont également créé des falaises abruptes. Ceux-ci contrastent avec les paysages de keuper ouverts, des collines doucement vallonnées sur les plateaux.

Des passages rocheux étroits et des grottes se sont formés dans le grès luxembourgeois du fait que des blocs individuels se séparaient les uns des autres et glissaient ou s'inclinaient sur les couches marneuses sous-jacentes imperméables.

On voit des traces d'érosion partout où la roche est exposée. L‘érosion en nid d'abeille dans la roche calcaire est particulièrement caractéristique, rappelant de vrais nids d'abeilles.

Des géotopes sont des sites intéressants, dignes de protection et qui donnent un aperçu de la géologie. Ils témoignent de l'origine et du développement de la vie sur terre et d‘un passé turbulent. On trouve bon nombre de géotopes au Parc naturel et Géoparc Mëllerdall. L’endroit le plus distinctif de la région, le Schéissendëmpel est un tel géotope, tout comme les imposantes formations rocheuses de Wollefsschlucht ou Kuelscheier, un passage rocheux étroit près de Consdorf.

Vivre la géologie

Un réseau de sentiers composé du Mullerthal Trail de 112 km de long et de nombreux sentiers locaux passe devant les formations rocheuses spectaculaires et souvent même au-dessus ou à travers. Des promenades d’une journée ou de plusieurs peuvent facilement être planifiées grâce aux transports en commun qui desservent très bien la région. De nombreux géotopes peuvent également,être explorés en VTT et l'escalade à l’air libre peut être pratiquée sur les parois rocheuses du Wanterbach près de Berdorf. Pour cela, il faut être déteneur d’une carte de membre d'une association d'alpinisme affiliée à l'une des deux associations internationales d'escalade, UIAA ou IFSC. Des contrôles réguliers sont effectués sur place.

Des programmes ludiques ayant attrait à l'environnement et au tourisme durable font la promotion du Parc naturel et Géoparc Mëllerdall au niveau du développement régional et de l'identité régionale. Découvrez la géologie de près, que ce soit à pied, en VTT, individuellement ou en randonnée guidée, et apprenez davantage sur l'histoire passionnante et millénaire de la région.

www.geopark-mellerdall.lu
 

Sur la carte

Nous utilisons des cookies pour assurer le bon fonctionnement du site. En le consultant, vous acceptez l’utilisation des cookies. ok En savoir plus