nmd logo 17 20 x 20 cmyk

Natur- & Geopark Mëllerdall

Natur- & Geopark Mëllerdall

The 11 municipalities of Beaufort, Bech, Berdorf, Consdorf, Echternach, Fischbach, Heffingen, Larochette, Nommern, Rosport-Mompach and Waldbillig are part of the Nature & Geopark Mëllerdall since 2016. About 25.500 inhabitants live on 256 km ². Along the main roads, signs with the Nature & Geopark logo point to the region.

The Luxembourg law says that only regions with a particular cultural and natural heritage can become a nature park. Since the Mëllerdall Region has a specific geological heritage, it is also a geopark. Imposing rock formations, deep valleys and vast plateaus characterize this region, where the Luxembourg sandstone forms one of the most imposing sandstone landscapes in Western Europe. The Nature & Geopark promotes the sustainable use of this heritage while supporting the economic, social and ecological development. It strengthens regional cooperation and provides a platform for cross-border projects. The Nature & Geopark Mëllerdall stands for its inhabitants and is not a protected zone, a geology park or a park bounded by a fence.

The Nature & Geopark Mëllerdall conveys the value of this geological heritage to mankind and in 2020, it will apply for membership in the UNESCO Global Geoparks program. In 2018, the regional Council of the UNESCO Global Geoparks attested a great potential for membership. At the same time, various improvement measures were recommended, which are currently being implemented.

General information

Location

8, rue de l'Auberge | L-6315 Beaufort

Tel. +352 26 87 82 91 1
E-mail :

http://www.naturpark-mellerdall.lu

show on the map

Opening times (The exhibition of the Natur- & Geopark Mëllerdall is open daily from 10am - 6pm.)

in the surroundings

show on the map

This website uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide personalized content. If you proceed to navigate our website, you accept our use of cookies. I ACCEPT More info

nmd logo 17 20 x 20 cmyk

Natur- & Geopark Mëllerdall

Natur- & Geopark Mëllerdall

Les 11 communes de Beaufort, Bech, Berdorf, Consdorf, Echternach, Fischbach, Heffingen, Larochette, Nommern, Rosport-Mompach et Waldbillig constituent depuis 2016 le Natur & Geopark Mëllerdall. Sur les 256 km² de surface habitent environ 25.500 personnes. Sur les routes principales, des panneaux avec logo renseignement sur le fait qu’on se trouve dans le Natur & Geopark Mëllerdall.

Selon la loi luxembourgeoise, seulement des régions qui possèdent un riche patrimoine culturel et naturel peuvent devenir un Natur & Geopark. Vu que la Région Mullerthal se distingue par ce patrimoine géologique particulier, elle est devenue un géoparc. Des formations rocheuses imposantes, des vallées profondes et de vastes plateaux caractérisent cette région, où le grès de Luxembourg est un des paysages de grès les plus imposants en Europe occidentale. Le Natur & Geopark prône l’utilisation durable de ce patrimoine et soutient en même temps un développement économique, social et écologique. Le géoparc renforce la coopération régionale et constitue également une plate-forme pour des projets transfrontaliers. Le Natur & Geopark Mëllerdall sert aux habitants de la région, il ne s’agit ni d’une zone protégée, ni d’un parc géologique ou d’un parc délimité par une clôture.

Le Natur & Geopark Mëllerdall transmet la valeur de ce patrimoine géologique aux habitants de la région et posera sa candidature en 2020 pour devenir UNESCO Global Geoparc. En 2018 déjà, le conseil de l‘UNESCO Global Geopark a confirmé à la région ses chances pour devenir membre.  En même temps, diverses mesures d’amélioration furent recommandées à la région et sont actuellement en voie de réalisation.

Informations générales

Localisation

8, rue de l'Auberge | L-6315 Beaufort

Tel. +352 26 87 82 91 1
E-mail :

http://www.naturpark-mellerdall.lu

Visionner sur la carte

Horaires d'ouverture (L'exposition du Natur- & Geopark Mëllerdall est ouverte tous les jours de 10 à 18 heures.)

Dans les alentours

Visionner sur la carte

En poursuivant votre navigation sur notre site, vous acceptez que des cookies soient utilisés afin d’améliorer votre expérience utilisateur et de vous offrir des contenus personnalisés. J'ACCEPTE Plus d’informations