IMG 0238

2007 - 2017: ORT MPSL viert 10 jaar!



The Regional Tourist Office of the Mullerthal Region - Luxembourg's Little Switzerland was founded on 24 October 2007 in Echternach as the first regional tourist office in Luxembourg. Delegates of 10 communes of the Mullerthal Region - Luxembourg's Little Switzerland as well as representatives of national tourist associations signed the founding treaty.

Now, 10 years later, on Tuesday 24 October 2017, the "ORT Müllerthal" celebrated its birthday in Echternach.


The circle of members has now expanded and over the years, five other communes and 11 local tourism boards of the region joined the association.

The 10th anniversary took place in the pavilion in the municipal park of Echternach. The pavilion seemed to be the right place as history and nature meet at the pavilion which is located on Route 1 of the Mullerthal Trail.

The current ORT president Marc Diederich welcomed the guests and said that he was proud of what the ORT had achieved until today. He is now looking forward that the staff will move into the new office building soon.

His speech was followed by founding president André Hartmann who made an exciting retrospective on the founding and development of the ORT. “Many meetings took place in the years 2006 and 2007, a decisive and very exciting phase for the region”, he said. The “Entente des Syndicats d'Initiatve” of the region had done very good preparatory work and Hartmann is happy that similar to the LEADER philosophy the ORT also managed to make the region come closer.

Before cutting the birthday cake, Secretary of State in the Ministry of Economic Affairs, Francine Closener, addressed some greetings to all present and wished the birthday child all the best for his future.

The members of the ORT are the following communes: Aerenzdall, Beaufort, Berdorf, Bech, Consdorf, Echternach, Fischbach, Heffingen, Junglinster, Larochette, Mompach, Nommern, Rosport, Reisdorf and Waldbillig and the local tourist informations of Aerenzdall, Beaufort, Berdorf, Born-Moersdorf, Consdorf, Echternach, Junglinster, Larochette, Reisdorf, Rosport and Waldbillig.

Further members are the Youthhostels from Luxembourg, HORESCA, Camprilux, RIM, the German-Luxembourgish Naturpark and the Trifolion. The Ministery of Economy, DG Tourism, the Ministery of Culture and Luxembourg for Tourism are observers in the board of the ORT.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide personalized content. If you proceed to navigate our website, you accept our use of cookies. I ACCEPT More info