2D5A1758 TB

 

Häerzlech
Wëllkomm

Discover the Mullerthal Region – Luxembourg's Little Switzerland !

0

Mullerthal Region - Luxembourg's Little Switzerland

Often referred to as Luxembourg’s Little Switzerland, the Mullerthal Region - or Mëllerdall in Luxembourgish – owes its name to its hilly landscape reminiscent of Switzerland. The region is above all a unique biotope characterized by sandstone rock formations which are as beguiling as surprising. It is the unique composition of the rock and soil erosion that have contributed to the creation of this landscape so typical for the region. The diverse natural and geological heritage makes the region so special. Therefore, the Nature park "Mëllerdall" was founded in 2016. It is also a Geopark to focus on the fascinating geology of the region. The combination of Nature and Geopark speaks for the special meaning and protection of the landscape. Today, Luxembourg's Little Switzerland attracts tourists from near and far away.

As "capital" of the Mullerthal Region, Echternach is the oldest town in Luxembourg. In 2010, the famous Dancing Procession of Echternach became part of UNESCO's Intangible Cultural Heritage. Among the major tourist attractions of the city are the Abbey Museum, the Roman Villa, the Basilica of Saint Willibrod or the cultural centre Trifolion.

The Mullerthal Trail takes the experienced hiker on 112 km of valley trails through a magnificent rocky landscape. The rock formations are dotted with difficult sounding names - Piteschkummer, Geierslee or Huellee, to name only a few. The footpaths of the Mullerthal Region - Luxembourg’s Little Switzerland lead through fields and forests into the heart of a natural setting that is almost intact. Besides the demanding hiking routes of the Mullerthal Trail the region offers a network of pleasant local hikes amidst breathtaking panoramas.

We use cookies to ensure the best experience on our website. By accepting you agree the use of cookies. ok Learn more

2D5A1758 TB

 

Häerzlech
Wëllkomm

Entdecken Sie die Region Müllerthal – Kleine Luxemburger Schweiz!

0

Region Müllerthal - Kleine Luxemburger Schweiz

Die Region Müllerthal – oder Mëllerdall auf  Luxemburgisch - wird auch noch die Kleine Luxemburger Schweiz genannt. Diesen Namen verdankt die Region ihrer Landschaft, die an die Schweiz erinnert. Die Region Müllerthal ist in erster Linie ein einzigartiges mit Felsen durchsetztes Biotop. Die Landschaft aus Sandsteinfelsen verdankt ihr eigentümliches Aussehen der über Jahrtausende wirkenden Erosion. Das vielfältige natürliche und geologische Erbe macht die Region zu etwas ganz Besonderem. Daher wurde 2016 der Naturpark „Mëllerdall“ gegründet, der zusätzlich Geopark ist, um die faszinierende Geologie der Region in den Fokus zu rücken. Die Kombination aus Natur- und Geopark spricht für die besondere Bedeutung und Schutzwürdigkeit der Landschaft. Heute ist die Kleine Luxemburger Schweiz ein Anziehungspunkt für Touristen von nah und fern.

Echternach ist die "Hauptstadt" der Region Müllerthal und gleichzeitig älteste Stadt Luxemburgs. Seit 2010 gehört die Echternacher Springprozession zum Immateriellen Kulturerbe der UNESCO. Zu den touristischen Highlights der Stadt gehören das Abteimuseum, die römische Villa, die Sankt Willibrord Basilika und das Kulturzentrum Trifolion.

Der Mullerthal Trail führt den geübten Wanderer über 112 Kilometer durch eine herrliche Hügel-und Felsenlandschaft. Die markantesten Felsen haben im Volksmund bizarre Namen erhalten, wie z.B. Piteschkummer, Geierslee oder Huellee, um nur einige zu nennen. Die Wanderwege in der Region Müllerthal - Kleine Luxemburger Schweiz führen durch eine intakte Natur, geprägt von Wiesen und Wäldern. Neben den anspruchsvollen Routen des Mullerthal Trails verfügt die Region ebenfalls über ein ausgedehntes Netz an lokalen Wanderwegen, die nicht minder schöne Aussichten bieten.

Cookies gewährleisten die bestmögliche Verwendung der Webseite. Bei Verwendung der Webseite stimmen Sie zu dem Einsatz von Cookies zu. ok Mehr Infos