Museum of the Abbey Echternach

Museum of the Abbey Echternach

Museum oft he Abbey Echternach. Immerse yourself in the history of Echternach and discover the works of the abbey's former scriptorium, the life of St Willibrord and archaeological remains

In the Middle Ages, monks at the Echternach Abbey used to produce stunningly beautiful, elaborately decorated manuscripts that were famous all over Europe. Their story is told today in the museum that is housed in the vaulted cellars of the abbey palace, built in 1727. Perfect facsimiles of manuscripts such as the Codex Epternacensis that were produced in the scriptorium at Echternach are on display here. The Abbey Museum also gives an insight into the life and work of Saint Willibrord, who founded the Abbey of Echternach in the year 698; and his bones rest in the crypt of the basilica. The Hopping Procession that is now on the UNESCO Intangible Cultural Heritage list also dates back to the time of Willibrord.

The museum has audio guides in German, French, Dutch and English, which are provided free of charge to visitors. The user will only need to deposit his identity card as guarantee.

Closest bus stop: Echternach, Lycée (500 m)

Closest parking lot: Parking lot A Kack (500 m)

General information


11, Parvis de la Basilique | L-6486 Echternach

Tel. +352 72 74 72
E-mail :

show on the map

Opening times

Opening period

From 01/11 To 31/03

From 01/04 To 30/06

From 01/07 To 31/08

From 01/09 To 31/10


  • Free visit to the Abbey Museum with the LuxembourgCard
  • Free

in the surroundings

show on the map